San Jose Fit Expo

on

image

My brother and I talked about going to the Fit Expo in San Jose, CA. We haven’t done a brother sister day probably….ever. Since we’re both into fitness and being healthy, sounded like a good fit.

My brother trains in MMA and Brazilian Jujitsu. So there were some competitions and people he would like to see there.

Me, #1 was Billy Blanks the creator of Tae No. Probably the first workout VHS (not DVD) I ever did. And saw evidence it worked. I also wanted to see Maria Kang. She started the No Excuse Mom movement and groups. I follow her group on facebook and her on instagram. Also, we have a family friend that had their booth there and sponsored the Crossfit competition. Check out The Sox Box for some awesome socks and workout gear!

When we were younger my dad always liked to take us to expos and fairs and taught us to get all the free samples. Haha! It was like a fun past time for our family. So everything fitness related, I was excited to see what samples they had.

Since my brother worked the graveyard shift he just came straight over and we headed out to the Expo. I think we were so excited the fact we didn’t eat didn’t even bother us.

When you first walk in the handed you some Arctic Zero protein ice cream. Dairy free, lactose free. Pretty awesome. But they didn’t have the gluten free version. Cookie dough ice cream. Brother liked it.

image
Check out her arms! (Photo by my brother @delights instagram.)

We walked around and my brother put it perfectly, “it’s like Costco on steroids” samples every where! It was great. You got to try out items you always wanted to. Free samples of per-workout, protein powders, shakes, energy drinks, protein bars, peanut butter powder. It was great!

Saw some great products. The clothing was great! Have to budget more for some nice workout clothes next time. They had all kinds of competitions. There were so many different types of strong there.

There were so many fit people there. Even though I have lost weight and am working towards my fitness goals, seeing perfectly ripped abs every where can be intimidating. But it inspired me! These ladies had such beautiful sculpted bodies that it made me appreciate all the hard work that goes into looking like that.
No matter if you are naturally skinny, it’s still hard to be that cut. Takes time, effort, sacrifice, hard work. I admire them. So what makes me think that I don’t have to work that hard for my fit strong body.

Now, do I think I’ll have beautifully sculpted abs and arms in a year? Two years? No. I’m a mom, wife, and have a household to take care of. As of right now, a gym membership isn’t even in my future. But did I realize that to achieve my goals that I need to also put in hard word, sacrifice, time and effort? Yes. So I came out very inspired! And fired up to get to my fitness goals. To get to my goal weight and be strong.

I did achieve my goals!

image
Billy Blanks signed my DVD!
image
Maria Kang and I after I worked out
image
My brother and I with Athena the owner of The Sox Box

We walked around and I wanted to do the Tae Bo class so we went to the workout stage. Maria Kang from No Excuse Moms, was on the stage. She pointed to me and to me to get in there and workout. “You will never regret a workout” she said. Very true. She called my brother out to join me too. He jumped right in. Biggest buffest dude in there. But he owned it!

He was working out so good the creator of RIPPED workout personally gave him a shirt for doing so awesome! We had so much fun and a great workout!

By the time that workout was done, we both were feeling hungry and our gas tank was running low. We made one more round and I got some supplements to try out.

It was great trip and experience. We will definitely go back next year. Going to bring my husband and some friends that want to join too. Way too much fun not to go. Especially if you have a passion for fitness and health.

Enjoy some of our pictures from that day!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a comment