Gluten Free Bakery Find on a Road Trip

on

Every feel like you do the same thing every day? It’s the same routine day in and day out. Every weekend it’s the same things most of the time? If you’re like us, busy family and homeowners, seems like our weekend is consumed with fixing up the home and cleaning it.  With some occasional social gatherings. My husband felt it was time for a road trip.

We live in central California. Going north or south we could find some fun things to do. We decided to go north and visit the Bay Area. To us, that’s San Jose, Santa Clara, Palo Alto, San Francisco, etc. Since we are from a small area, big city life is a switch up.

We started out our day at Ikea. For some reason we only have 3 glasses left from our whole collection. I guess over the years it’s bound to happen. 6 glasses for $5.99 isn’t a bad price. Grabbed a potty for the baby. At $10 can’t go wrong with a training potty. Let’s see if he’s ready. Also some cutting boards for $1.99 and tongs for $4.99. Great buys!

Of course being in California, we had to have some In & Out for lunch. Hubby and I both had the protein style burgers. They wrap the burgers in lettuce instead of a bun. Keeping on my gluten free eating. Even though it looks good I know I would not feel good after.

After that we went to the PGA Tour Superstore. This is like my husband’s Toys R Us. He could be in there for hours and it would feel like 5 minutes. You can test almost anything there. They have simulators and even sort of an indoor range. The boys loved putting and trying out the clubs. Hubby enjoyed it as well. In this store, I feel like the dude. Baby was tired and I put him in the Ergo carrier to take a nap. I found a comfy chair and waited for the boys to have their fun. Baby woke up just in time to practice putting with dad.

It was getting late and boys were getting tired of being in the car. I knew we had maybe one more stop in them. I Googled “Gluten Free Bakeries” last night and found one in Saratoga. Cute little town. Reminded us of two towns next to us. Woodsy and little. Wine tasting, restaurants, and cute little shops lined both sides of the street.

We found Gluten Free Gourmet in Saratoga. I was so excited to see what goodies they would have. I knew we would have some slim pickings since it was going on 5:00 and they close at 7:00pm. But I was hopeful they would have something yummy. When we finally found parking we took a nice stroll to the bakery. Very cute decor. A welcoming and warm feeling was immediate when you entered into the bakery. There was corner with kid toys and kid friendly items. Which as a mom, is a huge relief. Something to occupy them so you can have 5 minutes to enjoy a treat. The kiddos were attracted to the corner like magnets. My husband and I got to browse the dessert case. There was a pretty good selection.

Untitled design

We decided to try the carrot cupcakes, cranberry bliss bar, chocolate almond joy bars, and baby wanted the vegan vanilla cupcakes (1st born wasn’t feeling it for sweets). Hubby and I both ranked the desserts the same: 1st. carrot capcake 2nd. cranberry bliss bar 3rd. chocolate almond joy bar. Baby devoured the icing and left us the cake. Not my favorite. It was dry and almost had corn meal taste. Which being vegan you kind of expect it. But I have to say Whole Foods has an excellent vegan cake, very moist and not crumbly.

IMAG2110

It was worth the trip and I was happy to get some yummy gluten free desserts. I ate enough to last me for a while. If you are ever in Saratoga or even the surrounding areas, I would say to stop by and try out Gluten Free Gourmet. They also serve sandwiches, soups, salads, coffee, & tea. I also so a refrigerator case that had gluten free items to purchase. Great find! Thanks again Google!

IMAG2117

Where do you go for a sweet treat?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Teri says:

    Great day Tina – you’ve inspired me to take a road trip w Granny and the boys on Monday – I love Saratoga ans that area this time of year …
    You’ll have to take a snapshot of the Wholefoods vegan cake .. I’ve been cracking CAKE!!!
    But know I’ll pay for it after I eat it …
    Let me know if you are up for a hike on Monday morning 🙂

    Like

    1. kisandoval29 says:

      Wonderful!!! They have some great cakes and treats. Let’s connect on Monday.

      Like

Leave a comment